[ skip to content ]

Toggle Mobile Menu

Directory:Department of Ocean & Earth Sciences

More Information about this image

OEAS Ocean

Department Chair

Professor & Chair

Department Manager

Department Manager

Office Manager

OFFICE MANAGER

Budget Manager

Departmental Faculty

Additional OES People:

Professor Emeritus

Larry Atkinson latkinso@odu.edu

  • Ph.D, Dalhousie University (1972)
  • Interests: Nutrient supplies and hydrographic variability in eastern and western boundary currents
  • Website

Dennis A. Darby ddarby@odu.edu

  • Ph.D., University of Wisconsin (1971)
  • Interests: Sedimentary processes
  • Website


Ann Gargett gargett@ccpo.odu.edu

  • Ph.D., University of British Columbia (1970)

John Mcconaugha

  • Ph.D, University of Southern California (1977)

Ali A. Nowroozi anowrooz@odu.edu

  • Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
  • Interests: Application of geophysical methods in environmental studies and Earth mineral resources. Seismology. Earthquake risk; Plate ectonics of Middle East; Evaluation of saltwater/freshwater interface.

George F. Oertel goertel@odu.edu

  • Ph.D., University of Iowa (1971)
  • Interests: Interactions between barrier lagoons and boundary environments around barrier lagoons

Thomas C. Royer royer@ccpo.odu.edu

  • Ph.D., Texas A&M University (1969)
  • Interests: Deep ocean and coastal hydrography and currents, long time series measurements, air-sea interactions

Joseph H. Rule jrule@odu.edu

  • Ph.D., University of Missouri, Columbia (1972)
  • Interests: Geochemistry of trace metals in rocks, soils, sediments, waters and organisms in the environment

Donald J. P. Swift dswift@odu.edu

  • Ph.D., University of North Carolina (1964)
  • Interests: Fluid and sediment dynamics in shallow marine environments

George T.F. Wong gtfwong@gate.sinica.edu.tw

  • Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (1976)
  • Interests: Redox chemistry of trace elements; Carbon and nutrient cycles