[ skip to content ]

Toggle Mobile Menu

Department of Communication & Theatre ArtsAlumni

More Information about this image

Students walking across campus.

The Department of Communication and Theatre Arts honored 15 recipients at its inaugural Alumni & Graduates' Celebration. Congratulations to all!

Distinguished Award Recipient:

Sylvia Bugg '92

Chief Programming Executive and General Manager

General Audience Programming

Public Broadcasting Service (PBS)

Excellence Award Recipients:

Lauren DeVera '10

Founder of The Lion's Den

Host of Thrive + Thread Podcast

Certified Life Coach

Choreographer and Creative Director

Cici Ghattas '11

Director, Corporate Communication and Digital

Showtime Networks

Jeannine Ginivan '00

Senior Director, Public Policy Communications

General Motors

James Toscano, DLP '02

Doctor of Law and Policy


Partners for College Affordability

Christa J. Vogt '95

Theatre Teacher

Visual and Performing Arts Academy

Salem High School, Virginia Beach, Va.

Community Service Award Recipient:

Jennie Hurwitz Tabakin, M.D. '03


Sentara Pediatric Physicians

Engagement Award Recipients:

Rebecca Anderson '10

Internal Communications Specialist

Jefferson Lab

Fontaine Lexis Bland '16

Senior Brand Manager

72andSunny LA

Mitch Brown '15

Sports Director

FOX Lexington, Ky.

Gianina Thompson '11, '12

Head of Communications

The SpringHill Company

Future Award (2022 Graduates) Recipients:

Aliayah Brunt '22 - Dance

Brittney J. Crosby '22 - Strategic Communication

Haskell Gallotta '22 - Theatre

Cheyenne Kwiatkowski '22 - Cinema and TV Production