Provost's Award for Leadership in International Education

Meet some of our award winners!

The Provost's Award for Leadership in International Education was established in 2001 to recognize Old Dominion faculty members who have provided outstanding leadership in strengthening the University's international mission. The Provost's Award for Leadership in International Education provides a way to recognize the excellence of Old Dominion's faculty and their contributions to fulfilling the University's goal of becoming the premier international university in Virginia.



Must have at least three years of continuous service as a full or part-time faculty member in an Old Dominion University department or school.

Must have demonstrated a sustained commitment to Old Dominion's internationalization through achievements in one or more of the following areas:

  • Playing a creative role in developing a significant aspect of the University's international curriculum.
  • Playing a lead role in developing an active Old Dominion University linkage with an international partner.
  • Serving on international advisory bodies or collaborating with international colleagues in significant research and publication.
  • Directing a significant externally-funded project to internationalize the Old Dominion University experience.

Nomination Schedule

Nominations should be submitted directly to the respective department/school chair no later than January 13, 2023. Department/school chairs should work with the nominee to prepare a complete nomination packet to submit to the college dean. Please allow the college dean sufficient time to review the packet in advance of the deadline for deans to submit nomination materials to the office of the Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and Strategic Initiatives.

Deans must forward nomination packets (with the dean's endorsement) to the office of the Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and Strategic Initiatives by Friday, February 3, 2023. Nomination packets must be submitted electronically to Nomination packets not submitted electronically with not be accepted for review.

The University Outstanding Faculty Awards Committee will review the college nominations with the assistance of the Senior International Officer and recommend an award winner to the Provost by Friday, February 24, 2023.

Jan. 13, 2023 Nominations due to department/school chair
Jan. 27, 2023 Chair nominations due to Dean
Feb. 3, 2023 College dean submits college nominees to the office of the Vice Provost via
Feb. 13, 2023 Vice Provost's office uploads nominee packets to the SharePoint site and notifies the University Outstanding Faculty Awards Committee and Senior International Officer
Feb. 24, 2023 University Outstanding Faculty Awards Committee and Senior International Officer recommendations are due to the Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs & Strategic Initiatives.
March 27, 2023 Provost names the award winner

Nomination Process


The nomination must include supporting evidence of the leadership provided by the faculty member in international education. Nomination packets must be submitted electronically as a single PDF and include the following materials, in this order:

  1. A current CV.
  2. Description of the educational activity or activities that qualify the nominee for the award.
  3. A statement that describes the positive impact of the nominee's activities.
  4. Three letters of support from colleagues at Old Dominion University and/or partners abroad.

Send your nomination

Submit to Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs & Strategic Initiatives

Award & Presentation

The winner will be acknowledged at the spring faculty awards dinner with a certificate and will also receive a one-time award of $1,000 in recognition of this achievement.

Past Award Winners

2020: Peter Schulman, World Languages and Cultures

2021: Deborah Gray, Nursing

2022: Jose Padilla, Virginia Modeling, Analysis and Simulation Center

2010: Wayne Talley, Economics

2011: Regina Karp, Political Science and Geography

2012: Charles Hyde, Physics

2013: Theodore Remley, Counseling

2014: Ling Li, Information Technology and Decision Sciences

2015: Annette Finley-Croswhite, History

2016: Christopher Glass, Education and Leadership

2017: Colm Whelan, Physics

2018: Jennifer Fish, Women's Studies

2019: Helen Crompton, Teaching and Learning

2001: Jie Chen, Political Science and Geography, Bruce Seifert, Business Administration

2002: John B. Ford, Marketing

2003: Chris Drake, Political Science and Geography

2004: Berhanu Mengistu, Urban Studies and Public Administration, Lytton J. Musselman, Biological Sciences

2005: Gail Grisetti, Physical Therapy

2006: Alok K. Verma, Engineering Technology

2007: David Hager, Higher Education and International Studies, Maria L. Fornella-Oehninger, Model United Nations

2008: Kent Carpenter, Biological Sciences

2009: Qiu Jin, History