Provost's Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor

The Provost's Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor is to recognize and show appreciation for the undergraduate research mentorship efforts of ODU faculty members.

NOMINATION DEADLINE: Friday, January 20, 2023


Nominees shall have met the following criteria:

  • Be a fulltime ODU academic faculty member

Nomination Process & Schedule

Send your Nomination

Submit to Dean Of The Honors College, David Metzger


The Perry Honors College asks the ODU community to nominate one of its colleagues for this award for the Provost's Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor. Self-nominations are accepted. The nominated candidates are asked to submit electronically the following supporting documents in the following order:

  • Letter of nomination
  • A summary statement explaining the nominee's undergraduate research or scholarship mentorship activities. The statement is limited to one page.
  • Curriculum Vitae.
  • A list of undergraduate students mentored by the nominee, the title of their projects, duration of research/scholarship, and approximate number of hours of research per week conducted by each student.
  • List of publications, presentations, exhibitions, and/or performances resulting from undergraduate research.
  • Dean's letter of support.
  • Two reference letters from peers, at least one from an ODU faculty member. Note: These letters are in addition to the Dean's letter of support.
  • Full name and current contact information for up to three former undergraduate researchers or scholars supervised by the candidate. The Undergraduate Research Committee may contact these individuals for additional information.

Award & Presentation

Award recipients will receive a certificate and a one-time cash award of $1,000. They are recognized at the spring Faculty Awards and Retirement Dinner. There is no expectation for the awardee to make a presentation at the dinner. Names of awardees appear on a plaque displayed in a prominent location on the University campus.

Past Award Winners

Anne Muraoka
Art History

Annemarie Horn
Department of Communication Disorders and Special Education

Christopher Zajchowski
Department of Human Movement Sciences

Lisa Horth
Biological Sciences

Jamela Martin

Sandeep Kumar
Civil and Environmental Engineering

Narketta Sparkman-Key
Counseling and Human Services

Debra Major

David Gauthier
Biological Sciences

Jesse Richman
Political Science and Geography

Stephen Bueltmann

Steve C. Hsiung
Engineering Technology