[ skip to content ]

Toggle Mobile Menu


More Information about this image

Veiwing cell using microscopy

Faculty Members

Mounir Laroussi

Director of PEMI

Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering Department

Dr. Mounir Laroussi received his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. He now holds a Professor position at the Electrical & Computer Engineering Department of Old Dominion University (ODU) and is the Director of ODU's Plasma Engineering & Medicine Institute (PEMI).

Dr. Laroussi's research interests are in the physics and applications of non-equilibrium gaseous discharges including the biomedical applications of low temperature plasma (LTP). He designed and developed numerous novel LTP devices such as the resistive barrier discharge (RBD) and the plasma pencil. He is co-discoverer of guided ionization waves in low temperature plasma jets. Dr. Laroussi is also widely known for conducting the first pioneering experiments on the use of low temperature atmospheric pressure plasmas for biomedical applications and for highly contributing to the establishment of the interdisciplinary field of "Plasma Medicine". For his scientific achievements in the field of low temperature plasmas and their biomedical applications he was elevated to the grade of Fellow by IEEE in 2009, and was awarded the 2012 IEEE-NPSS Merit Award, as well as other prestigious awards.

Nazir Barekzi

Research Scienctist

Dr. Nazir Barekzi received his Ph.D. degree in microbiology from the University of Virginia, Charlottesville, in 2009. He then completed a two-year appointment as an American Society for Engineering Education Postdoctoral Fellow with the Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, D.C. In 2011, he joined Old Dominion University working with Professor Mounir Laroussi as a Research Scientist with the Laser and Plasma Engineering Institute, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA. Dr. Barekzi's research involves the study of the effects of low temperature plasma on healthy mammalian cells and on cancer cells. He also holds a lecturer position at the department of biological sciences.

Prof. Gayle McCombs

Dental Hygiene Research Center, Director

Dental Application

Prof. Wayne Hynes

Department of Biological Sciences, Chair

Microbiology, Bacterial Inactivation

Prof. Venkat Maruthamuthu

Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Cell mechanics, cell-cell and cell-surface interaction

Prof. Onur Bilgen

Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering

Smart Materials

Doctoral Stutents

Soheila Mohades

PhD Student

Soheila Mohades received the B.Sc. degree in physics from Shahid Beheshti University, Tehran, Iran in 2004, and the M.S. in plasma engineering from Shahid Beheshti University, Tehran, Iran in 2012.

Contact: SMOHA013_AT_ODU.EDU

Hamid Razavi

PhD Student

Hamid Razavi received the B.Sc. degree in physics from University of Kashan, Kashan, Iran in 2003, and the M.S. in plasma engineering from Shahid Beheshti University, Tehran, Iran in 2011.

Contact: SRAZA002_AT_ODU.EDU

Masters Student

Jessica Sears

ME Student

Previous Members

Post Doc PhD Students MS Students Intern, Technical assistants
Dr. Julien Jarrige Asma Begum Mehmet Arda Akman Nicolas Méricam-Bourdet
Dr. Frank Leipold Erdinc Karakas Sudhakar Alla Chad Mallot
Dr. XinPei Lu Vivid Thakali Paul Richardson Fred Dyer
Dr. Olga Minayeva Ashraf El-Dakrouri Jessica Sears
Dr. Claire Tendero
Dr.Tamer Akan
Dr. Zibiao Wei
Undergraduate Students
Lucas Van Way
Richard Jonas
Jeff Godwin
Joseph Orians