[ skip to content ]

Toggle Mobile Menu

Find Your Advisor

More Information about this image

Students sitting and talking outside Barry Arts Building.

College of Arts & Letters Advising


1st Year Intended Majors

If you plan to major in a program offered by the College of Arts & Letters and

  • You have completed fewer than 26 credit hours or
  • You have completed 26 or more credit hours but have NOT yet earned a "C" or better in ENGL 110C or
  • You plan to major in Art, IDS--Cyber, Music, or Theatre

Program
Advisor
Office Phone Email

African American & African Studies

Tanisha Bradley

BAL 1006

757-683-6441

tbradley@odu.edu

Art

Ginger Brinn

BAB 2005

757-683-4798

vbrinn@odu.edu

Asian Studies

Tanisha Bradley

BAL 1006

757-683-6441

tbradley@odu.edu

Cinema/TV Production

Carolina Conte

UT 1003

757-683-3834

cconte@odu.edu

Communication

Sierra Phelps

BAL 1006

757-683-4939

sphelps@odu.edu

Criminal Justice

Sierra Phelps

BAL 1006

757-683-4939

sphelps@odu.edu

Dance

Tanisha Bradley

BAL 1006

757-683-6441

tbradley@odu.edu

English

Tanisha Bradley

BAL 1006

757-683-6441

tbradley@odu.edu

Geography

Tanisha Bradley

BAL 1006

757-683-6441

tbradley@odu.edu

History

Tanisha Bradley

BAL 1006

757-683-6441

tbradley@odu.edu

IDS-Cybercrime

Tammey Nielsen

BAL 1006

757-683-4927

tnielsen@odu.edu

IDS-Game Studies

Tanisha Bradley

BAL 1006

757-683-6441

tbradley@odu.edu

IDS-Leadership

Tanisha Bradley

BAL 1006

757-683-6441

tbradley@odu.edu

International Studies

Tanisha Bradley

BAL 1006

757-683-6441

tbradley@odu.edu

Music

Bianca Hall

DEIHN 204 757-683-4359 bhall@odu.edu

Philosophy & Religious Studies

Tanisha Bradley

BAL 1006

757-683-6441

tbradley@odu.edu

Political Studies

Tanisha Bradley

BAL 1006

757-683-6441

tbradley@odu.edu

Sociology

Sierra Phelps

BAL 1006

757-683-4939

sphelps@odu.edu

Theatre

Jim Lyden

GOODE 1201B

757-683-6519

jlyden@odu.edu

Women's Studies

Tanisha Bradley

BAL 1006

757-683-6441

tbradley@odu.edu

World Cultural Studies

Tanisha Bradley

BAL 1006

757-683-6441

tbradley@odu.edu

World Languages - French, German, Spanish

Tanisha Bradley

BAL 1006

757-683-6441

tbradley@odu.edu

2nd Year Intended

To declare your major in the College of Arts & Letters, you must complete 26 or more credit hours AND have earned a "C" or better in ENGL 110C.

2nd years students who are unable to declare, with the exception of Art, IDS--Individualized, Music, and Theatre majors, are advised by:

Tammey Nielsen | BAL 3032 | 757-683-4927 | tnielsen@odu.edu

Transfer Students

Our office serves as first contact for transfer students entering the College of Arts & Letters. Entering transfer students have their very first advising conference with our transfer advisor, after which they are referred to their departmental advisors. Transfer students are advised by:

Staci Kohen | BAL 1006C | 757-683-5396 | skohen@odu.edu

Declared Sophomores | Juniors | Seniors

Students who have earned 26+ credit hours INCLUDING a C or better in English 110C, all Juniors, and all Seniors are advised by departments.


Program Advisor Office
Phone Email
African American & African Studies Melvina Sumter BAL 2023 757-683-5586 msumter@odu.edu
Art Ginger Brinn BAB 2005 757-683-4798 vbrinn@odu.edu
Asian Studies Qiu Jin Hailstork BAL 8028 757-683-5863 qjin@odu.edu
Cinema/TV Production Carolina Conte UT 1003 757-683-3834 cconte@odu.edu
Communication Carla Harrell BAL 3002 757-683-3837 charrell@odu.edu
Criminal Justice Jessica Huffman BAL 6006 757-683-3835 jhuffman@odu.edu
Dance James Morrow DIEHN 1106C 757-683-3002 jemorrow@odu.edu
English Heather Weddington BAL 5045 757-683-4038 hwedding@odu.edu
Geography

Nicole Hutton Shannon

BAL 7012 757-683-3947 nhuttons@odu.edu
History Robert Del Corso BAL 8042 757-683-3949 rdelcors@odu.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies--Cybercrime Philip Mann BAL 6025 757-683-3813 pmann@odu.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies--Individualized Virginia Tucker BAL 5034 757-683-4025 vmtucker@odu.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies--Leadership Michele Mitchell BAL 3028 757-683-6190 mmitchel@odu.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies--Game Studies Kevin Moberly BAL 4010 757-683-5324 kmoberly@odu.edu
Interdisciplinary Studies--Professional Writing Virginia Tucker BAL 5034 757-683-4035 vmtucker@odu.edu
International Studies Timothy Kidd BAL 7004 757-683-6996 tkidd@odu.edu
Music

Bianca Hall

DEIHN 204 757-683-4359 bhall@odu.edu
Music Education Nancy Klein DEIHN 2110 757-683-4067 aklein@odu.edu
Philosphy & Religious Studies James Van Dore BAL 9013 757-683-3863 jvandore@odu.edu
Political Science

Francis Adams

BAL 7022 757-683-3854 fadams@odu.edu
Pre-Law Michelle Kundmueller BAL 7025 757-683-6060 mkundmue@odu.edu
Sociology Jessica Huffman BAL 6006 757-683-3935 jhuffman@odu.edu
Theatre Jim Lyden GOODE 1201B 757-683-6519 jlyden@odu.edu
Women's Studies Lee Ellen Knight BAL 3043 757-683-3824 lknight@odu.edu
World Cultural Studies Lee Slater BAL 4045 757-683-3973 lslater@odu.edu
--French Peter Schulman BAL 4020 757-683-3323 pschulma@odu.edu
--German Kersten Steitz BAL 4001 757-683-5475 ksteitz@odu.edu
--Spanish Andrew Gordus BAL 4016 757-683-4319 agordus@odu.edu