The 2024 College of Sciences Award Ceremony was held on Tuesday, April 23 at 3:00 p.m. to recognize and honor the achievements of faculty, staff, and students.

Dean Gail Dodge along with Associate Deans Joshua Wallach, Lesley Greene and Wayne Hynes presented awards.

Dean Dodge said, “Congratulations to everyone who was nominated! Your hard work and commitment to the College and ODU are truly appreciated. Your initiative to make meaningful connections and impacts on our students, staff and faculty are appreciated. We also want to thank the family members of our students and our donors for supporting the College of Sciences.”

  • Distinguished Research – Kristin Heron (Psychology)
  • Distinguished Early Career Research – Felix Ringer (Physics)
  • Cheng Fund for Innovative Research – Lusi Li (Computer Science)
  • Distinguished Teaching Award, Adjunct Faculty Etta “CJ” Jones Biological Sciences)
  • Distinguished Teaching Award, Lecturer Chris Freeman (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
  • Distinguished Teaching Award, Tenure-Track Faculty Matt Grau (Physics)
  • Distinguished Teaching Award, Tenured Faculty David Gauthier (Biological Sciences)
  • Above and Beyond Faculty Award – Perry Nerem (Physics) (This award is sponsored by the College of Sciences Advisory Board)
  • Outreach Award
    • Justin Mason (Physics)
    • Team of Emily Hardy, Kyle Lambert, Trandon Bender (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor – Sampath Jayarathna (Computer Science)
  • Outstanding Advisor – Soad Ibrahim (Computer Science)
  • Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant – Alissa Ganley
  • Outstanding M.S. Thesis Award – Kinjal Patel (Psychology, Advisor: Cassie Glenn)
  • Lee Entsminger Dissertation Award – Iresha Harshani Senevirathne (Physics, Advisor: Jean Delayen)
  • Outstanding Staff Member – Isaac Rubin (Biological Sciences)       
  • Gene. W. Hirschfeld Faculty Excellence Award – Larry Weinstein (Physics)

To view the list of winners from this year and previous years visit our Faculty Awards website.