Congratulations to the 2023 College of Sciences faculty and staff who earned the following awards:

  • Above and Beyond Faculty Award - Terri Grant (Mathematics & Statistics)
  • Distinguished Teaching: Non-tenure Track - Elaine Murphy (Psychology)
  • Distinguished Teaching: Tenure Track - Yuan Zhang (Physics)
  • Distinguished Teaching: Adjunct - Courtney Mozo (Psychology)
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor - Balsa Terzic (Physics)
  • M.S. Thesis Award - Samantha Fitzer (Psychology, Advisor: Matt Henson)
  • Lee Entsminger Dissertation Award - Jin Ren (Mathematics and Statistics, Advisor: Yuesheng Xu)
  • Outstanding Advisor - Suzanne Morrow (Psychology)
  • Distinguished Early Career Research - Sampath Jayarathna (Computer Science)
  • Distinguished Research - Pat Hatcher (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
  • Cheng Fund for Innovative Research - Lisa Shollenberger (Biological Sciences)
  • Outstanding Staff Member - six awards given this year:
    • Danielle Achterfeld (Biological Sciences)
    • Team: Delicia Malin and Annette Guzman-Smith (Physics)
    • Leilanie Campos (Computer Science)
    • Peggy Kinard (Psychology)
    • Dana Schilling (OES)

"Please join me in congratulating our award winners," said Gail Dodge, dean of ODU's College of Sciences. "These honors represent an enormous amount of work and achievement. Thank you to all of you who have played a part in nominating your colleagues or students for these awards."

To view the list of winners from this year and previous years visit our  Faculty Awards website.

The Dean's Office will host a College of Sciences Awards Ceremony and Reception to be held on Tuesday April 25, at Mills Godwin Building 102 at 3:00 p.m.