By Kenya Godette

For the fourth consecutive year, the Old Dominion University Alumni Association (ODUAA) has selected its 40 Under 40 Recognition Program Class of 2024.

Members of this year’s cohort, selected based on rigorous criteria, are chosen for demonstrating excellence in achievement and service and for making an impact in business, research, leadership, education and their communities. 

According to the association, honorees ““are trailblazers in their respective fields and have achieved exceptional feats, creating an indelible legacy all before the age of 40.”

“Old Dominion University Monarchs are some of the most impactful leaders in their communities and across the globe,” said Dr. Krista Harrell ‘01, ‘03, ‘12, associate vice president for the Office of Alumni Relations. for the Office of Alumni Relations. “As a proud ODU alumna, I am inspired each year by the new members we welcome and their diverse contributions to their fields.”

Members of the 2024 class are:

  • Dr. Elise A. Green ‘12 ‘21, Assistant Professor of English and Writing, Longwood University
  • Fontaine Bland ‘16, Planning Lead, Apple Music
  • Professor Ann Bruhn ‘06 ‘07, Associate Professor/Chair, Old Dominion University School of Dental Hygiene
  • Brittney Callier ‘11, Founder/Owner, Pour & Stay Full
  • Elijah Cornish ‘15 ‘21, Chief of Staff, General Services Administration
  • Abbie Dean ‘20, Transportation Engineer, State Road & Tollway Authority and Owner of Tru Property Solutions
  • Marlon Diggs ‘10, Visual Artist/Muralist and Owner of Zooka Enterprises 
  • Kristen Donofrio ‘09, Chief, Coastal/Navigation NEPA Section, US Army Corps of Engineers
  • Dominique Dove ‘11, Government Appellate Attorney, US Army Judge Advocate General Corps
  • Matthew French ’12, ‘14, Founder, Awesomely Authentic and Manager of Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion, Piedmont Airlines
  • Dr. Megan Frick ‘23, Physical Therapist, Old Dominion University Monarch Physical Therapy
  • Patrick Garrison ’10, ‘11, Executive Director, Tidewater Classical Guitar
  • Dr. Cory Gerwe ’09, ’14, ‘19, Director of Leadership, Coaching, and Wellness, Eastern Virginia Medical School
  • Dr. Katia Hall ‘13, Nurse Practitioner and PMHNP Program Director, Old Dominion University
  • Rebecka Hall ‘14, Director of Web Innovation and Strategy, ODUGlobal, Old Dominion University
  • Matt Harrell ‘09, Director of Demand Generation, Clearwave
  • Kyonna Henry ’09, ‘12, Director of Student Life and Engagement, University of South Florida
  • Dr. Emily Horvath ’19, ‘20, Nurse Practitioner, ODU Community Care Director of Clinical Education, Family Nurse Practitioner Program Clinical Assistant Professor, Old Dominion University School of Nursing
  • Christina Kanu ‘14, Chief Executive Officer, Christina Kanu Consulting
  • Lieutenant Barbara Kent ‘16, Department Head, Pediatric and Immunization Clinic, Naval Hospital Bremerton, United States Navy
  • Dr. Tamika Lett ‘07, CEO, T.L. Payne Consulting LLC
  • Jillian Lopez ‘14, Owner, I:XLIV
  • Rick Lovato Jr. ‘15, American Football Long Snapper, Philadelphia Eagles
  • Jake Maines ‘15, Owner, Jake Maines Realty
  • Katelyn Makovec ’09, ‘11, Senior Lecturer, Health and Physical Education, Undergraduate Program Director, Old Dominion University
  • Dominique McKenzie ‘15, Liaison to Richmond City Council’s Ninth District
  • Dr. Denise McKinney ’10, ’11, ‘16, Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director, Old Dominion University School of Dental Hygiene
  • Shawna Melvin ‘15, Producer, 160over90
  • Dr. Anderson Miller ‘15, General Dentist, Downs Dental Care and Old Dominion University Athletics Department
  • Haley Morgan ‘21, Account Executive, TechArk
  • Paul Moxey Jr. ‘15, Recruiter, Royal Caribbean Group
  • Adrienne Pearl ‘07, Owner, Pearl’s Design Properties LLC and Real Estate Broker, Pearl’s Design Properties LLC and Century Realty
  • Nzingha Price ‘10, TCEO/Founder of Aligned Infusions IV Hydration; Melanaires Club 501(c)(3)
  • Alicia Pullen ’19, ‘22, Policy Analyst, State Corporation Commission- Health Benefit Exchange
  • Dr. Kelly Rippard ’07, ’10, ‘14, Senior Lecturer, Department of Teaching and Learning, Old Dominion University
  • Dr. Andrew Thompson ’10, ‘12, Research Physiologist, United States Army Training and Doctrine Command
  • Dr. Jayendrika Tiskumara ’16, ‘23, Radio Frequency Engineer, Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility
  • Greg Tomchick ‘15, CEO, Valor Cybersecurity
  • Theodore Urbano ‘24, Special Missions Auxiliary Clinic Flight Commander, United States Air Force
  • Angelica Yankauskas ‘18, Executive Vice President, Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities