[ skip to content ]

Toggle Mobile Menu

Replacing/Updating an Asset

Importance of Replacing/Updating an Asset vs. Uploading a New Version

The WCMS allows us, as website content managers, to create a true website, where content managers can share content and resources across the various pages on the website. Rather than each unit uploading a PDF of the academic calendar, for example, the Office of the University Registrar would upload the official copy and then any unit that wishes to offer the calendar should link to that one.

By updating an asset rather than deleting it, you save all users (yourself included) the hassle of re-linking the asset and you provide continuity in the URL for the asset. When you update an asset, every place the asset is used or linked will automatically be updated when you reactivate the asset.

Examples of assets that should always be updated versus new versions being uploaded:

  • All images
  • PDFs of policies
  • Calendars of events
  • Downloadable instructions
  • Almost all documents

The WCMS and the DAM are not intended to host historical records of documents and images unless their public accesibility is required for compliance purposes. Only the most recent and relevant version of an image or document should be in the DAM.

Deactivate the Asset (temporarily)

It is important that you deactivate (it is temporary) your asset before you begin the replacement process.

  • Locate the asset in the DAM and click on its line to select it
  • Right-click and choose "Deactivate" or click "Deactivate" in the DAM module menubar
  • Check the Published status - it should be red
  • If your Published status is orange, continue to press the refresh button in the upper left corner of the asset listing to refresh the listing until the status changes from orange to red - this is very important

Open the Asset to Edit

Right-click on the asset and choose Open or double-click on the asset's line (preferably on the repository order number) to open the asset for editing. You will see all of the metadata fields (2) as well as the renditions of the asset (3):

asset-open-numbered

Replace the Original Rendition

Under the Renditions tab on the right, scroll all the way to the bottom of the list and locate the "original" rendition and single click on it (1) to select it.

Click on the "Upload..." button at the bottom of the window. The Add or Overwrite a Rendition dialog will appear:

Click Browse... to browse your computer to locate the replacement version of the file.

Very Important

  • The replacement asset must be in the exact same file format as the original (PDF to PDF; DOCX to DOCX; JPG to JPG) - you cannot update a JPG with a PNG or update a PDF with a DOCX file
  • Your must leave "original" in the Rendition Name field

Click OK.

The DAM will start processing all of the renditions of your file. Please be patient until it has finished processing all renditions. The last rendition typically completed is the larger thumbnail in the leftmost section of the asset window.

Once all renditions are rendered, click the Save button at the bottom of the window and then close the asset tab.

Reactivate the Asset

Back in the list view, make sure your asset is selected and either right-click and choose Activate or choose Activate from the menubar. Once your Publish status shows green, your asset should be successfully replaced.

Important Note on Asset Replacement & Browser Cache

Depending on individual user and browser cache settings, your visitors may still appear to get an old version of the asset even after successful replacement. If users report getting the old version, have them clear their cache or access the asset using an InPrivate (Firefox) or Incognito (Chrome) browser window.