# OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY

## College of Sciences



College of Sciences 2019 Awards Ceremony Tuesday, April 30, 2019 2:30 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Mills Godwin Life Sciences Building, Room 102

### **Event Program**

Welcome ...... Gail Dodge, Dean - College of Sciences

#### - Faculty / Staff Awards -

Cheng Fund for Innovative Research Piotr Kraj, Department of Biological Sciences

Distinguished Research Award Michael Nelson, Department of Computer Science

Early Career Distinguished Research Award Kristin Heron, Department of Psychology

**Distinguished Teaching Award - Adjunct Faculty Shanda Jenkins,** Department of Psychology

**Distinguished Teaching Award - Nontenured Faculty Robert Strozak**, Mathematics & Statistics

**Distinguished Teaching Award - Tenure Track Faculty Balsa Terzic**, Department of Physics

**Distinguished Teaching Award – Tenured Faculty Konstantin Cigularov,** Department of Psychology

Outstanding Advisor of the Year Janet Brunelle, Department of Computer Science

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year Michelle Kelley, Department of Psychology

#### **Outstanding M.S. Thesis Award**

John Berlin, Department of Computer Science

Lee Entsminger Outstanding Ph.D. Dissertation Award Dante Myers, Department of Psychology

**Outstanding Graduate Student Poster Presentation Award** 

Courtney Klepac, Department of Biological Sciences Joedian Morris, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry Shelby Long, Department of Psychology

Outstanding Staff Member of the Year Ariel Sturtevant, Department of Computer Science

Above and Beyond Faculty Award Sponsored by the College of Sciences Advisory Board Presented by Lynn Clements

Department Awards -

**Biological Sciences - Chris Osgood, Chair** 

Award for Graduate Student Community Engagement/Service Alexis White

Award for Undergraduate Community Engagement/Service Lauren Hyde

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award Shovan Dutta

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award Michelle Bershers

Outstanding Staff Member of the Year Award Mary Hayward

#### Paul Kirk Student Wetland Research Award Recipients for 2019

Nick Flanders, Department of Biological Sciences Russell Winter, Department of Biological Sciences Spencer Schubert, Department of Biological Sciences Tyler Legg, Department of Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences

#### Chemistry & Biochemistry - John Cooper, Chair

Outstanding Student Award for Biochemistry Major Chenxi Luo Nathan Jentink

Outstanding Student Award for Chemistry Major Elliott Johnson

Provost's Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Jenna Garcia

**Computer Science - Ravi Mukkamala, Chair** 

Anne Everett Scholarship for Outstanding Achievement Kira DeGraw

Outstanding Graduate Researcher in Computer Science (Fall) Christos Tsolakis

Outstanding Graduate Researcher in Computer Science (Spring) Juliette Pardue

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant in Computer Science (Fall) Varsha Ravi Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant in Computer Science (Spring)

#### **Ioannis Sakiotis**

Outstanding Undergraduate in Computer Science (Fall) Katherine Letchworth

Outstanding Undergraduate in Computer Science (Spring) Lalita Sharkey

Travis Priest Family Endowment Scholarship Recipient (Fall 2018) Tyler Marshall

Travis Priest Family Endowment Scholarship Recipient (Spring 2019) Khang M Nguyen

#### Mathematics & Statistics - Hideaki Kaneko, Chair

Philip R. Wohl Memorial Scholarship Mohammed Alqawba

Top Undergraduate Senior Student in Actuarial Mathematics Elizabeth Trahadias

**Top Undergraduate Senior Student in Applied Mathematics Nicole Brailer** 

Top Undergraduate Senior Student in Mathematics for Secondary School Teachers

**Isabelle Ballesteros** 

Top Undergraduate Senior Student in Statistics James Kelvington

#### Ocean, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences - Fred Dobbs, Chair

Catherine M. Hillegass Research Award, Ocean Sciences Alfonso Macias-Tapia, PhD, Oceanography (M. Mulholland, advisor)

Catherine M. Hillegass Research Award, Earth Sciences James Wallace, MS, Ocean & Earth Sciences (N. Noffke, advisor)

Jacques S. Zaneveld Endowed Scholarship Sveinn Einarsson, MS, Ocean & Earth Sciences (P.D. Chappell, advisor)

Lee Entsminger Scholarship for Coastal Geology Kallie Brown, MS, Ocean & Earth Sciences (R. Hale, advisor)

Neil and Susan Kelley Endowed Scholarship Fund Kallie Brown, MS, Ocean & Earth Sciences (R. Hale, advisor)

#### **Physics - Charles Hyde, Chair**

Clifford L. and Lillian R. Adams Scholarship (2019) Gregory Blume Lucas Tracy

Outstanding Physics Graduate Teaching Assistants (2018-2019) Victoria Lagerquist Josh Frechem

Outstanding Senior Award in Physics (2019) Corey Sargent

#### Psychology - Michelle Kelley, Chair

Alan Chaiken Undergraduate Honors Thesis Award Hannah C. Hamrick

Elizabeth Guy Outstanding Academic Award Samantha Mundt

Elizabeth Guy Outstanding Service Award Nicollette Dwyer

Outstanding Psychology Graduate Student Instructor of Record Amy Stamates

Outstanding Psychology Graduate Student Teaching Assistant James Unverricht

Outstanding Psychology Graduate Student Service Award Sarah Ehlke

- <u>Reception</u> -



The 2019 College of Sciences Award Ceremony recognizes and honors the achievements of the faculty & students from the College



## Congratulations!

We also thank the family members of our students, and our donors for supporting our students and the College

Old Dominion University Office of the Dean College of Sciences 143 Oceanography & Physics Building 4600 Elkhorn Avenue Norfolk, VA 23529 757.683.3274