Minutes of the Senate Executive Committee meeting

Without President and Provost

Tuesday, April 9, 2024 @ 3:00 – 4:20 pm

Rabbi Reich Room, Webb center

- *Attendance*: Chair Michael Carhart, Vice-Chair Corrin Gillis (via zoom), Secretary Tatyana Lobova, Senator Steve Hsiung, Senator Wie Yusuf, Senator Dennis Gregory (via zoom), Senator Lucy Wittkower (via zoom).
- 1. One senator needs to be elected to Senate Executive Committee to replace Steve Hsiung who is retiring. An additional seat on EC that was added last year for EVMS faculty will be offered to EVMS senate for election this month.
- 2. We will need to write a new policy for the non-tenured EVMS faculty's ranks. Their current ranks titles do not correspond with ODU titles for tenured and non-tenured faculty.
 - 2. Senate committees for 2014-25:

A: Undergraduate Curriculum

Tatyana Lobova* Chair (SCI) Phillip Reed (EDU) Nathan Luetke (ENGR) Suzanne Van Orden (NUR) Katherine Hammond (A&L) Amber Hunt (HS) Kenneth Fitzgerald* (A&L) Paige O'Shaighnessy (BUS) Lucy Wittkower* (LIB) Bonnie Van Lunen, Interim Vice Provost for Academic Affairs Sommer Alexander, Undergraduate Curriculum Coordinator

B: Undergraduate Policy and Procedure

Nicole Willock* Chair (A&L) David Selover* (BUS) Yonghee Suh* (EDU) Elizabeth Black* (A&L) Mujde Erten-Unal (ENGR) Lynn Wiles (NUR) Suzanne Morrow (SCI) Kimberly Murphy (HS) At Large Carrie John, University Registrar and Associate Provost

C: Graduate Studies

Dennis Gregory* Chair (EDU) Leslie Hogland (PUBH) Brett Bebber (A&L) Masha Sosonkina (ENGR) Alan Schwitzer (EDU) Amanda Hudgins (NUR) Shannon Wells (SCI) Julia Romberger (A&L) Robert Wojtowicz, Dean of Graduate School

D: Scholarly Activity and Research

Wie Yusuf* Chair (BUS) Drew Lopenzina* (A&L) Kristin Gansle (EDU) Sylvain Marsillac (ENGR) Carolyn Rutledge (NUR) Andrey Chernikov (SCI) Kenneth Fridley, Vice President for Research/designee

F: Promotion and Tenure

Desh Ranjan* Chair (SCI) Roderick Graham (A&L) Fran Hassencahl (A&L) Mia Joe* (VMASC) Marina Saitgalina (BUS) Gulsah Kemer (EDU) Gary Shafran (ENGR) Tinnikka Robertson-Jones* (NUR) Yvette Pearson, Interim Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and Strategic Initiatives

G: Faculty Status and Remuneration

Kate Hawkins* Chair (A&L) Patrick Sachs* (HS) Michelle Kelley (SCI) Jay Scribner (EDU) Eunice Park (BUS) Otilia Popescu (ENGR) Joshua Behr (VMASC) Yvette Pearson, Interim Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and Strategic Initiatives

H: Digital Learning and Online Education

Ivan Ash* Chair (SCI) Pending departmental election (ENGR) Mitchell Williams (EDU) Jonna Bobzien (EDU) Larissa Bulysheva* (BUS) Pilar Pazos* (ENGR) Lee Land* (SCI) Daniel Richards (A&L) Janice Hawkins* (NUR) Miriam Bridges (LIB) Susan Kenter, Vice President for Digital Learning Bonnie Van Lunen, Interim Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

I: Administration, Finance & Academic Support Services

David Burdige* Chair (SCI) Raymond Cheng (SCI) Jesse Richman (A&L) Ling Tuo* (BUS) Tian Luo (EDU) Chunqi Jiang (ENGR) Janice Hawkins* (NUR) Rob Tench (LIB) Chad Reed, Vice President for Administration and Finance

J: Library

Lucy Wittkower* Chair (LIB) Gon Namkoong (ENG) Jing Zhang (BUS) Angela Wilson (HS) Michelle Bartlett (EDU) Perry Nerem* (SCI) Vittorio Colaizzi (A&L) Victoria Heiduschke (LIB) Elizabeth Hogue (LIB)