## Minutes of the Senate Executive Committee meeting

Tuesday, April 2, 2024 @ 3:00 - 5:20 pm

## Rabbi Reich Room, Webb center

Attendance: Chair Michael Carhart, Vice-Chair Corrin Gillis, Secretary Tatyana Lobova, Senator Steve Hsiung, Senator Wie Yusuf, Senator Dennis Gregory, Senator Lucy Wittkower.

## 1. Lambert's Point green space

- a. Presentation by Brian Friedman, Lambert's Point city park steering committee. They are organizing an effort to preserve a 15 acres section of the former Lamberts Point golf course as a community greenspace. The lot belongs to the city and zoned as a green space. ODU is leasing a parking lot #49 from the city adjacent to the park.
- b. They want to know what ODU long-term interest in this land is.
- c. Sat, April 13 at 12pm Student Ambassadors and other stakeholders will hold a Lambert's Point Community Day on Powatan Lawn; see <u>https://www.lambertspointcitypark.com/</u>
- 2. Organization meeting next year's committees:

## A: Undergraduate Curriculum

Tatyana Lobova\* Chair (SCI) Phillip Reed (EDU) Nathan Luetke (ENGR) Suzanne Van Orden (NUR) Katherine Hammond (A&L) Amber Hunt (HS) Kenneth Fitzgerald\* (A&L) Paige O'Shaighnessy (BUS) Lucy Wittkower\* (LIB) Bonnie Van Lunen, Interim Vice Provost for Academic Affairs Sommer Alexander, Undergraduate Curriculum Coordinator

## **B: Undergraduate Policy and Procedure**

Nicole Willock\* Chair (A&L) David Selover\* (BUS) Yonghee Suh\* (EDU) Elizabeth Black\* (A&L) Mujde Erten-Unal (ENGR) Lynn Wiles (NUR) Suzanne Morrow (SCI) Kimberly Murphy (HS) At Large Carrie John, University Registrar and Associate Provost

# **C: Graduate Studies**

## Elizabeth Burns\* Chair (EDU)

Wie Yusuf\* (BUS) Brett Bebber (A&L) Masha Sosonkina (ENGR) Alan Schwitzer (EDU) Amanda Hudgins (NUR) Shannon Wells (SCI) Julia Romberger (A&L) Robert Wojtowicz, Dean of Graduate School

# **D:** Scholarly Activity and Research

Wie Yusuf\* Chair (BUS) Drew Lopenzina\* (A&L) Kristin Gansle (EDU) Sylvain Marsillac (ENGR) Carolyn Rutledge (NUR) Andrey Chernikov (SCI) Associate Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies

# **F:** Promotion and Tenure

Desh Ranjan\* Chair (SCI) Roderick Graham (A&L) Fran Hassencahl (A&L) Mia Joe\* (VMASC) Marina Saitgalina (BUS) Gulsah Kemer (EDU) Gary Shafran (ENGR) Tinnikka Robertson-Jones\* (NUR) Yvette Pearson, Interim Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and Strategic Initiatives

#### **G:** Faculty Status and Remuneration

Kate Hawkins\* Chair (A&L) Patrick Sachs\* (HS) Michelle Kelley (SCI) Jay Scribner (EDU) Eunice Park (BUS) Otilia Popescu (ENGR) Joshua Behr (VMASC) Yvette Pearson, Interim Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and Strategic Initiatives

## **H: Digital Learning and Online Education**

Ivan Ash\* Chair (SCI) (ENGR) Mitchell Williams (EDU) Jonna Bobzien (EDU) Larissa Bulysheva\* (BUS) Pilar Pazos\* (ENGR) Lee Land\* (SCI) Daniel Richards (A&L) Janice Hawkins\* (NUR) Miriam Bridges (LIB) Susan Kenter, Vice President for Digital Learning Bonnie Van Lunen, Interim Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

## I: Administration, Finance & Academic Support Services

David Burdige\* Chair (SCI) Raymond Cheng (SCI) Jesse Richman (A&L) Ling Tuo\* (BUS) Tian Luo (EDU) Chunqi Jiang (ENGR) Janice Hawkins\* (NUR) Rob Tench (LIB) Chad Reed, Vice President for Administration and Finance

## J: Library

Lucy Wittkower\* Chair (LIB) Gon Namkoong (ENG) Jing Zhang (BUS) Angela Wilson (HS) Michelle Bartlett (EDU) Perry Nerem\* (SCI) Vittorio Colaizzi (A&L) Victoria Heiduschke (LIB) Elizabeth Hogue (LIB)

3. Executive Committee proposes to keep one at-large seat open for EVMS representative on executive committee.

4. Senate Constitution states that faculty forum will include all EVMS full-time faculty. We need to clarify and define what is "full-time faculty" means for EVMS.