2024-25 FACULTY SENATE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING Chesapeake/Portsmouth Rooms, Webb Center TUESDAY, April 16, 2024 3:00-4:15 p.m.

Minutes

- 1. Call to order 3:04pm.
- 2. Circulate the roll. Senators N=37, In person N=27, via Zoom N=10

Ivan Ash	X	Drew Lopenzina	Х
Abdullah Al-Taiar	zoom	Denise McKinney	Х
Sebastian Bawab	-	Amy Milligan	zoom
Elizabeth Black	X	Anil Nair	Х
Nina Brown	X	Pilar Pazos-Lago	Х
Larisa Bulysheva	X	Jennifer Poutsma	zoom
David Burdige	X	Desh Ranjan	Х
Elizabeth Burns	X	Leryn Reynolds	X
Michael Carhart	X	Jesse Richman	X
Kenneth Fitzgerald	X	Tinnikka Robertson-Jones	zoom
Corrin Gillis	zoom	Patrick Sachs	Х
Mahesh Gopinath	X	Gary Schafran	excused
Roderick Graham	-	Eric Schussler	-
Dennis Gregory	X	Mike Seek	-
James Michael Hall	-	David Selover	X
Janice Hawkins	zoom	Masha Sosonkina	-
Kate Hawkins	X	Yonghee Suh	zoom
Steve Hsiung	X	Ling Tuo	zoom
Mia Joe	zoom	Larry Weinstein	Х
Lee Land	X	Nicole Willock	X
Selena Layden	zoom	Lucy Wittkower	X
Tatyana Lobova	X	Wie Yusuf	X

3. Agenda Approved.

4. Orientation to the Senate – Chair Carhart

- Senators suggested some website improvements that require IT involvement. Committees' chairs suggested to have a better organized list of issues so it can be sorted by the Committee and traced.
- 5. Executive Committee

a) Approval of Standing Committee Chairs and Other Appointees to Standing Committees

Committee G amended to maintain continuity. **Approved**

G: Faculty Status and Remuneration Kate Hawkins* Chair (A&L) Patrick Sachs* (HS) Elizabeth Burns* (EDU) Eunice Park (BUS) Sebastian Bawab* (ENGR) Michelle Kelley (SCI) Joshua Behr (VMASC) Yvette Pearson, Interim VP for Faculty Affairs and Strategic Initiatives

The rest of the Committees roaster was approved as presented.

b) **District 18 representation will be moved to District 43**. District 18 will remain open for now.

c) Election for the 2024-25 Executive Committee Vacancy

At-Large members, Senator Gregory, Senator Burdige, Senator Yusuf, and Senator Wittkower are up for reelection.

Senator Gregory, Senator Burdige, Senator Yusuf, and Senator Wittkower are approved for Executive Committee At-Large.

New member of executive committee nominated: Senator Brown (10 votes), Senator Joe (6 votes), Senator Land (14 votes).

Senator Land approved for Executive Committee At-Large.

6. Adjournment 4:37pm