### OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, November 30, 2023

#### **MINUTES**

A meeting of the Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University was held on Thursday, November 30, 2023, from 2:11-3:21 p.m. in the Board of Visitors Room in the Kate and John R. Broderick Dining Commons on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Committee were:

	Brian Holland, Chair R. Bruce Bradley, <i>(ex officio)</i> P. Murry Pitts <i>(ex officio)</i> Dennis M. Ellmer Juan M. Montero, II Rick Wyatt David Burdige <i>(Faculty Representative)</i> Keshav Vermani <i>(Student Representative)</i>
Absent from the Board:	Toykea Jones
Also present were:	President Brian O. Hemphill Augustine O. Agho Ken Fridley Thomas Alberts Tom Allen Maggie Barber Judy Bowman Alonzo Brandon Laura Delbrugge Annie Gibson Nina Gonser Stephanie Jennelle Brandi Hephner LaBanc Jaime Hunt Mary Jo Karlis Susan Kenter Casey Kohler Donna Meeks Alicia Monroe Chad Reed September Sanderlin Ashley Schumaker Amanda Skaggs Allen Wilson

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 2:11 p.m.

# I. APPROVAL OF THE SEPTEMBER 14, 2023, MINUTES

Upon a motion made by Mr. Bradley and seconded by Mr. Pitts, the minutes of the September 14, 2023, meeting were approved by unanimous vote (*Ayes: Bradley, Ellmer, Holland, Pitts, Wyatt; Nays: None*).

#### **II. CLOSED SESSION**

The Chair recognized Mr. Bradley, who read the following motion: "Mister Chair, I move that this meeting be recessed, and, as permitted by Virginia Code Section 2.2-3711 (A) (1), we reconvene in closed session for the purpose of discussing recommendations for the appointment of four faculty members with tenure and a dual employment. The motion was seconded by Mr. Wyatt and approved by unanimous vote (*Ayes: Bradley, Ellmer, Holland, Montero, Pitts, Wyatt; Nays: None*). In addition to the Board members present, the following individuals were present during closed session: President Hemphill, Provost Agho, Interim Vice President Fridley, Judy Bowman, Alonzo Brandon, Annie Gibson, Nina Gonser, Jaime Hunt, Mary Jo Karlis, Brandi Hephner LaBanc, Chad Reed, September Sanderlin, Ashley Schumaker, and Allen Wilson.

#### III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND FOIA CERTIFICATION

At the conclusion of the closed session, the Chair reconvened the meeting and the following Freedom of Information Act Certification was read: "Any person who believes that the committee discussed items, which were not specifically exempted by law or not included in the motion, must now state where they believe there was a departure from the law or a departure in the discussion of matters other than that stated in the motion convening the closed session. I shall now take a roll-call vote of the committee. All those who agree that only lawfully exempted matters and specifically only the business matter stated in the motion convening the closed session were discussed in closed session say "aye." All those who disagree say "nay." The certification was approved by roll-call vote (*Ayes: Bradley, Ellmer, Holland, Montero, Pitts, Wyatt; Nays: None*).

Upon a motion made by Mr. Bradley and seconded by Mr. Wyatt, the committee approved the appointment of Dr. Trent D. Buskirk as Professor with the award of tenure in the Department of Information Technology & Decision Sciences in the Strome College of Business; Dr. Frank Y. Lie as Professor with the award of tenure in the Department of Computer Science in the College of Sciences; Dr. Hong Qin as Associate Professor with the award of tenure in the Department of Computer Science in the College of Sciences and Dr. Daniel Takabi as Professor with the award of tenure in the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering in the Batten College of Engineering and Technology by unanimous vote (*Ayes: Bradley, Ellmer, Holland, Montero, Pitts, Wyatt; Nays: None*).

Upon a motion made by Mr. Bradley and seconded by Mr. Wyatt the committee approved the dual employment of those named, finding each employment in the best interests of the University by unanimous vote (*Ayes: Bradley, Ellmer, Holland, Montero, Pitts, Wyatt; Nays: None*).

#### IV. CONSENT AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Mr. Ellmer and seconded by Mr. Bradley, committee members approved 6 faculty appointments and 3 emeriti appointments by unanimous vote (*Ayes: Bradley, Ellmer, Holland, Montero, Pitts, Wyatt; Nays: None*).

#### V. REGULAR AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Mr. Wyatt and seconded by Mr. Bradley, the committee approved the proposed Master of Arts in Teaching degree programs in Elementary Education and Secondary Education by unanimous vote (*Ayes: Bradley, Ellmer, Montero, Holland, Wyatt; Nays: None*).

## VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

Provost Agho gave a presentation on the Monarch Humanities Internship Academy. The academy was funded by a philanthropic foundation and supports the Strategic Plan goal of 100% of graduates doing an internship by 2027. Funds were included to hire three new positions to help humanities students get paid internships. The goal is for the academy to serve as a model for other colleges.

Ken Fridley, Interim Vice President for Research, provided information on the changes to the Carnegie Classifications for 2025 and the proposed new research classification. Changes are being made to both basic classifications and research classifications. Changes effective for the 2025 classifications continue to be based on a three-year average.

Provost Agho introduced Dr. Tom Allen, Professor of Geography, and Dr. Thomas Alberts, Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and Interim Director, Institute of Autonomous and Connected Systems, who gave a presentation on Taking Off with New Technologies: Drones and Autonomous Systems Research and Academic Developments. Dr. Allen noted that the DroneLab is out of the Geography Program and recently acquired new enterprise drones and sensors and outfitted a vehicle. The emphasis of the DroneLab is on geography, mapping and small Uncrewed Autonomous Systems (sUAS). Dr. Alberts explained the Institute for Autonomous and Connected Systems (IACS) and how it serves to heighten awareness of Old Dominion University's expertise in autonomous and connected systems, connect ODU researchers with relevant industry and pursue large team-based funding opportunities. Both the DroneLab and IACS bring together faculty and students across the Colleges of Engineering & Technology, Arts & Letters and Sciences.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:21 p.m.