APPROVED BY COMMITTEE 9/14/23

OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, June 15, 2023

MINUTES

A meeting of the Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University was held on Thursday, June 15, 2023, from 10:00-11:30 a.m. in the Board of Visitors Room in the Kate and John R. Broderick Dining Commons on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Committee were:

Toykea S. Jones, Chair (via Zoom)

Kay A. Kemper, Vice Chair R. Bruce Bradley (ex officio) P. Murry Pitts (ex officio) E.G. (Rudy) Middleton, III

Nina Brown (Faculty Representative)

Also present from the Board: Jerri F. Dickseski

Absent from the Board: Robert A. Broermann

Brian K. Holland

Armistead D. Williams, Jr.

Also present were: President Brian O. Hemphill

Augustine Agho Ashleigh Boothe Morris Foster Judy Bowman Alonzo Brandon Tammi Dice Annie Gibson Nina Gonser

Brandi Hephner LaBanc

Jaime Hunt Shanda Jenkins Mary Jo Karlis Amber Kennedy Susan Kenter Lisa Kivin Casey Kohler

Chrysoula Malogianni

Donna Meeks

Alicia Monroe Chad Reed September Sanderlin Ashley Schumaker Allen Wilson Suzanne Wright

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 10:07 a.m. Pursuant to Virginia Code § 2.2-3708.2 and the Board's corresponding policy, Toykea Jones was unable to attend in person due to a work conflict. A quorum of the Committee was physically present.

I. APPROVAL OF THE APRIL 20, 2023, MINUTES

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, the minutes of the April 20, 2023, meeting were approved by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bradley, Jones, Kemper, Middleton; Nays: None).

II. CLOSED SESSION

The Chair recognized Ms. Kemper, who read the following motion: "Madam Chair, I move that this meeting be recessed, and, as permitted by Virginia Code Section 2.2-3711 (A) (1), we reconvene in closed session for the purpose of discussing recommendations for faculty representatives to Board of Visitors committees and the appointment of a faculty member with tenure. The motion was duly seconded and approved by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bradley, Jones, Kemper, Middleton; Nays: None). In addition to the Board members present, the following individuals were present during closed session: President Hemphill, Provost Agho, Vice President Foster, Judy Bowman, Alonzo Brandon, Annie Gibson, Nina Gonser, Jaime Hunt, Mary Jo Karlis, Brandi Hephner LaBanc, Alicia Monroe, Chad Reed, September Sanderlin, Ashley Schumaker, and Allen Wilson.

III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND FOIA CERTIFICATION

At the conclusion of the closed session, the Chair reconvened the meeting and the following Freedom of Information Act Certification was read: "Any person who believes that the committee discussed items, which were not specifically exempted by law or not included in the motion, must now state where they believe there was a departure from the law or a departure in the discussion of matters other than that stated in the motion convening the closed session. I shall now take a roll-call vote of the committee. All those who agree that only lawfully exempted matters and specifically only the business matter stated in the motion convening the closed session were discussed in closed session say "aye." All those who disagree say "nay." The certification was approved by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bradley, Jones, Kemper, Middleton; Pitts; Nays: None)

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Mr. Middleton, the committee approved the following faculty representatives to Board of Visitors committees for the 2023-24 and 2024-25 academic years, effective August 26, 2023 by roll-call vote: Academic and Research Advancement, David Burdige; Administration and Finance, Wie Yusuf; Athletics, Tatyana Lobova; Audit and Compliance, Steve Hsiung; Student Enhancement and Engagement, Dennis

Gregory; and University Advancement, Corrin Gillis (Ayes: Bradley, Jones, Kemper, Middleton; Pitts; Nays: None).

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Mr. Middleton, the committee approved the appointment of Dr. Jeffrey C. LaCombe as Professor with the award of tenure in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering in the College of Engineering and Technology by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bradley, Jones, Kemper, Middleton; Pitts; Nays: None).

IV. CONSENT AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Ms. Kemper, committee members approved 40 faculty appointments and three emeritus/emerita appointments by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bradley, Jones, Kemper, Middleton; Pitts; Nays: None).

V. REGULAR AGENDA

Committee members approved proposed revisions to the Board of Visitors policies on Tenure and Promotion in Rank by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bradley, Jones, Kemper, Middleton; Pitts; Nays: None). The proposed revisions will be reviewed by the Governance Committee and presented to the Board for approval at the September meeting.

Committee members also approved the following regular agenda items by roll-call vote: a proposal to form two academic departments in the Joint School of Public Health; a proposal to form two academic departments in the School of Nursing; proposed reorganization of the Darden College of Education and Professional Studies; a resolution recognizing the ten appointment, promotion, and tenure policies that apply to the School of Medicine and School of Health Professions Faculty upon integration (anticipated January 1, 2024); proposed policies and procedures relating to faculty appointment, promotion and tenure of Eastern Virginia Medical School (EVMS) faculty; a resolution to endorse the Faculty Senate chairs' recommendation of the cadence for appointment, promotion, and tenure policy review; and a resolution to acknowledge the engagement and cooperation of the Old Dominion University Faculty Senate in support of the integration with EVMS (Ayes: Bradley, Jones, Kemper, Middleton; Pitts; Nays: None).

VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

Committee members received the Annual Report of Committee Actions and the Report on Promotions in Academic Rank Effective for 2023-24. Provost Agho and Dr. Shanda Jenkins, Coordinator of Faculty Diversity & Retention, presented an overview of faculty demographics, promotion and tenure, and separations.

Vice President Morris Foster provided an update on upcoming changes to the Carnegie Classification for 2024. The changes include adding new classifications and metric, reducing the emphasis on R1, being more inclusive, and being more transparent.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:20 a.m.