OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, December 8, 2022

MINUTES

A meeting of the Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University was held on Thursday, December 8, 2022, from 4:08-4:53 p.m. in the Board of Visitors Room in the Kate and John R. Broderick Dining Commons on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Committee were:

	Toykea S. Jones, Chair Kay A. Kemper, Vice Chair R. Bruce Bradley <i>(ex officio)</i> P. Murry Pitts <i>(ex officio)</i> Brian K. Holland E.G. (Rudy) Middleton, III
Absent from the Committee:	Robert A. Broermann Armistead D. Williams, Jr.
Also present were:	President Brian O. Hemphill Augustine Agho Morris Foster Bruce Aird Maggie Barber Judy Bowman Alonzo Brandon Nina Gonser Liz Groeneveld Casey Kohler Donna Meeks John Nunnery Brian Payne September Sanderlin Ashley Schumaker Don Stansberry Bonnie Van Lunen Eric Weisel Allen Wilson Wie Yusuf

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 4:08 p.m.

I. APPROVAL OF THE SEPTEMBER 15, 2022, MINUTES

Upon a motion made by Mr. Bradley and seconded by Mr. Pitts, the minutes of the September 15, 2022, meeting were approved by roll-call vote (*Ayes: Bradley, Holland, Jones, Kemper, Middleton, Pitts; Nays: None*).

II. CLOSED SESSION

The Chair recognized Mr. Holland, who read the following motion: "Madam Chair, I move that this meeting be recessed, and, as permitted by Virginia Code Section 2.2-3711 (A) (1), we reconvene in closed session for the purpose of discussing recommendations for the appointment of two faculty members with tenure. The motion was seconded by Mr. Pitts and approved by roll-call vote (*Ayes: Bradley, Holland, Jones, Kemper, Middleton, Pitts; Nays: None*). In addition to the Board members present, the following individuals were present during closed session: President Hemphill, Provost Agho, Vice President Foster, Judy Bowman, Nina Gonser, September Sanderlin, Ashley Schumaker, and Allen Wilson.

III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND FOIA CERTIFICATION

At the conclusion of the closed session, the Chair reconvened the meeting and the following Freedom of Information Act Certification was read: "Any person who believes that the committee discussed items, which were not specifically exempted by law or not included in the motion, must now state where they believe there was a departure from the law or a departure in the discussion of matters other than that stated in the motion convening the closed session. I shall now take a roll-call vote of the committee. All those who agree that only lawfully exempted matters and specifically only the business matter stated in the motion convening the closed session were discussed in closed session say "aye." All those who disagree say "nay." The certification was approved by roll-call vote (*Ayes: Bradley, Holland, Jones, Kemper, Middleton, Pitts; Nays: None*).

Upon a motion made by Mr. Bradley and seconded by Mr. Pitts, the committee approved the appointment of the following faculty members with tenure by roll-call vote: Dr. Li-Wu Chen, Professor and Dean of the School of Public Health with tenure in the School of Community and Environmental Health in the College of Health Sciences, and Dr. Kenneth B. Kahn, Dean of the Strome College of Business and Professor of Marketing with tenure in the Department of Marketing (*Ayes: Bradley, Holland, Jones, Kemper, Middleton, Pitts; Nays: None*).

IV. CONSENT AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Mr. Middleton and seconded by Mr. Holland, committee members approved four faculty appointments, 27 administrative faculty appointments, and five emeritus/emerita appointments by roll-call vote (*Ayes: Bradley, Holland, Jones, Kemper, Middleton, Pitts; Nays: None*).

V. REGULAR AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Mr. Middleton, the committee approved the following regular agenda items by roll-call vote: Department of Women's Studies name change to Women's and Gender Studies; the School of Kinesiology and Health Science and the School of Communication Sciences and Disorders within the College of Health Sciences; a Bachelor of Science degree in Data Science; and a Master of Science degree in Applied Behavior Analysis *(Ayes: Bradley, Holland, Jones, Kemper, Middleton, Pitts; Nays: None).*

VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

Vice President Morris Foster described the research motivations and benefits of the new Strategic Plan. He also presented a preliminary overview of the findings of a study of data science opportunities in Hampton Roads. The emergence of data science occupations is broad based in the Hampton Roads region. Key areas of high growth and strong specialization are found in cybersecurity, marine engineering, and logistics occupations. ODU leads in data science degrees awarded in Hampton Roads. ODU is moving data science forward for the region and the state through the School of Data Science, national lab partnerships, cluster hires, interdisciplinary bachelor's and master's degrees, and data science innovation clusters.

Dr. John Nunnery, Associate Vice President for Research, presented outcomes of the applied research initiative launched by the Office of Research in 2016. The initiative has used five key strategies: (1) develop and apply University strengths to regional needs, (2) capitalize on regional assets to develop a unique competitive edge, (3) develop organizational capacity through restructuring and capability enhancement, (4) expand the range of funding mechanisms used to support R&D, and (5) re-charge existing partnerships and develop new partnerships at all levels. Outcomes of the initiative included 49% growth in non-traditional R&D expenditures, several new types of funding mechanisms, 68% growth in industry-sponsored research, and over 800% growth in applied research expenditures from \$1.9 million to over \$16 million per year in 2022. Further growth is expected in FY 2023 through recent major funding for the Coastal Resilience Authority and for Mission Engineering.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:53 p.m.